You Are Not Alone

"Grief is immeasurable, and certain that at some point, every person will experience it,

but uniquely in their own way".

We are no strangers to Grief. When sudden or even expected loss occurs in our lives most often  challenge our faith or core moral beliefs. There are no words big enough to describe the emotional void; our lives seem meaningless, useless, without direction, or endlessly painful. 

What is Grief ?

Sorrow, Sadness, Regret, Melancholy, Mourning, Misery Trouble,

Anguish, Despondency, Pain, Worry, Harassment, Anxiety, Woe, Heartache,

Malaise, Disquiet, Discomfort, Affliction, Gloom, Unhappiness,

Desolation, Despair, Agony, Torture, Purgatory.

These are 'nouns ' published in Webster's New World Dictionary & Thesaurus 2002, but not just words...


They are Natural Feelings & Reactions to Loss of Any Meaningful Kind or Magnitude.

Can be the first reaction to news that a loved one has passed. Many people report numbness where they don’t feel anything in the first few moments. This experience can be surprising to many individuals because may not immediately sense the devastated feelings they would expect to feel with such news.

Shock or Disbelief

doesn't so much occur in the grieving process when the mourner “forgets” that their loved one has passed away. Denial is related to how one expresses their emotions surrounding grief. For example, a person who continually says, "I'm fine," after a significant loss is likely denying his or her feelings.  It may also be true that the bereaved person does not know how to share their feelings with those closest to them.


is not a universal emotion during the grief process. While it is not unusual to experience anger and many other feelings after a significant loss, it is not required. Some people become angry at themselves or the person who left them or simply at the situation they are left to face alone. Grief recovery coaching can provide a safe place to explore the anger and help uncover the source of the anger.


refers to attempts to make a deal, often with God, to change the situation. Elizabeth Kübler-Ross noted bargaining in her observations of individuals dying from a terminal illness. Bargaining may not be so frequent when a loved one has died, but is likely present in other losses such as divorce, break up, job loss, home loss or other transition, where there is some hope the situation could be changed by an all-powerful God.



can occur when the bereaved have regrets about things they did or said before the loved one died or left them. There is a wish to turn back the clock and do some things differently. This is another area where grief coaching can be especially helpful to give the griever a space to share their memories and regrets in a supportive environment.


is often used to describe the profound sadness that is a natural human reaction to grief and loss. The symptoms of grief are very similar to those of clinical depression.

Acceptance and Hope

In the last stage of the 7 stages of grief one arrives at the belief that although life will never be the same again after the loss, there is hope that life will go on.

7 Stages of Grief

Our Testimony is the

Journey of

Hope and Healing, 

carrying the message

to others who struggle.


  • LinkedIn B&W
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Google+ B&W
  • Facebook B&W

© 2017 by Beacon Institute: Veteran Pathways Home